Frequently asked questions

Select your category

Q: Are there any customs formalities to comply with? Watch Tutorial

This information given to you is purely indicative. Under no circumstances shall ColisExpat be held liable should this information prove to be incomplete or obsolete.

Shipments from France to the European Union :

No customs formalities, except for certain territories

Parcels being shipped from France to European Union member states are not subject to particular customs formalities, except when being delivered to certain European territories: Büsingen and Helgoland (Germany), the Faroe Islands and Greenland (Denmark), the Canary Islands, Ceuta and Melilla (Spain), the Aland Islands (Finland), Mount Athos (Greece), Campione d’Italia, Livigno, San Marino and Vatican City (Italy), Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man (Great Britain).

For shipments from France to outside of the European Union, as well as the French Overseas Territories,

& for shipments from the US to any country :

All destinations outside of the European Union, including the French overseas departments and territories and Andorra, are affected by customs formalities. It is necessary to provide a certain number of documents depending on the destination, the type of the parcel’s contents, its origin and its value, so as to avoid any delay or refusal on the part of customs services. Two documents are absolutely essential:

  • CN 23 customs declaration
  • Two copies of a pro-forma invoice

The details of the items in the parcel are mentioned on these documents: quantity, description, net weight and pre-tax value (HT) of each item. That way, the customs services have all the information they need to determine the customs duties you have to pay locally (if any) to pick up your parcel. If these documents are missing, the parcels will be blocked in customs and will be affected by a delay in their delivery.

It is important that these documents are completed carefully. You will be requested to provide these elements when placing your forwarding order. Be sure to be as precise as possible, so we can provide the carrier with two quality documents.

Do not hesitate to write your description in English according to your country of residence.

There are also optional documents which confirm the items are of European origin (declarations of origin). ColisExpat cannot provide this type of document.

To avoid unpleasant surprises, anticipate and estimate customs fees on the customs website of your country of residence.

You can also get an evaluation on the site SimplyDuty.

Foire Aux Questions

Sélectionnez votre catégorie

Q : Y a-t-il des formalités douanières à respecter? Voir Tutoriel

Ces informations vous sont données à titre indicatif et ne sauraient en aucun cas engager la responsabilité de ColisExpat en cas d'information qui s'avèrerait incomplète ou obsolète.

Pour les colis réexpédiés depuis la France vers les pays de l'Union Européenne :

Pas de formalités douanières, sauf pour certains territoires

Les réexpéditions de colis de France vers les pays de l'Union Européenne ne nécessitent pas de formalités douanières particulières, sauf pour certains territoires européens: Büsingen et Helgoland (Allemagne), les îles Féroé et le Groenland (Danemark), les îles Canaries, Ceuta et Melilla (Espagne), les îles Aland (Finlande), le Mont Athos (Grèce), Campione d'Italia, Livigno, San Marin et le Vatican (Italie), Jersey, Guernesey et l'île de Man (Grande-Bretagne).

Pour les colis réexpédiés depuis la France vers les pays hors de l'Union Européenne ainsi que l'Outre-Mer français,

& pour les colis réexpédiés depuis les Etats-Unis vers tous les pays du Monde :

Toutes les destinations hors Union Européenne sont concernées par les formalités douanières, y compris la France d'Outre-mer et Andorre. Il est nécessaire de fournir un certain nombre de documents en fonction de la destination, de la nature du contenu du colis, de son origine et de sa valeur afin d’éviter tout retard ou refus de la part des services douaniers. Deux documents sont indispensables:

  • une déclaration en douane CN23
  • une facture pro-forma en double exemplaire

Sur ces documents sont mentionnés les détails des articles contenus dans le colis: quantité, description, poids net et valeur Hors Taxes (HT) pour chaque article. Ainsi les services douaniers ont toutes les informations pour déterminer les éventuels droits de douane que vous avez à régler localement pour récupérer votre colis. En cas d’absence de ces documents, les colis seront bloqués en douane et subiront un retard dans leur acheminement.

Il est important que ces documents soient soigneusement complétés. Lors de la saisie de votre demande de réexpédition, ces éléments vous seront demandés. Mentionnez-les le plus précisemment possible afin que nous puissions fournir deux documents de qualité au transporteur.

N'hésitez pas à écrire votre descriptif en anglais en fonction de votre pays de résidence.

Il existe également des documents optionnels liés à l'origine européenne des articles (déclarations d'origine). ColisExpat ne peut pas fournir ce type de documents.

Pour éviter les mauvaises surprises, anticipez et estimez les frais de douane sur le site internet des douanes de votre pays de résidence.

Vous pouvez aussi obtenir une évaluation sur le site SimplyDuty.